Resolutions & Preparations

11 Jan

Dear Yolo,

It is 2012, the year the world is supposed to end according to the Aztecs. I am trying to come up with some goals for the year so that I don’t spend my last year on earth sitting on my ass wondering if the Rapture will make the lines at Duane Reade any shorter.

Maroon’s Goals for 2012
1) Be able to do at least one pull-up. Linda Hamilton. Duh.
2) Get married. The good news is that I’m already engaged. Turns out the hard part is actually coordinating a wedding.
3) Gain representation for film/tv.
4) Perform in a play.

I hate writing this shit down. the idea of accountability is paralyzing. However, I am already making headway on some of these goals. I am sore from my attempts at goal #1 and am flailing through the beginnings of goal #2.  During Christmas break I tried on dresses with my mom, future mother-in-law and future sister-in-law. I’m glad I did it because it was a new and interesting experience for both mothers who both sorta eloped but it was tough for me because I felt the way Bear the Cat appears to feel when I make him wear clothes. One dress in particular I realized I really loved about 2 weeks later and then called the store only to find it had been snapped up in the prior day’s sample sale. It was a light pink Jenny Lee dress, something you can definitely wear in Hawaii.

I have also been amusing myself with designing my own invitations which are using the mirror image effect Stella McCartney has employed in her Hawaiian resort collection which I will share with you when they get closer to being done. I am trying to convince my Dad to buy a letterpress so we can start a business together. So far, I have convinced him to buy and read a book about letterpress. I am counting even small victories.

I worked on goal #3 yesterday, at one of those seminars where you pay $30 or $40 for a facilitated introduction. I’m after this one particular lady at a B level bi-coastal agency. She is mean, and it’s pretty apparent that she hates actors. I don’t know if I want her to represent me or if I want to punch her in the face.

What prompted the Argentina trip? More details, please.

Ok, I have to get ready for my one casting of the day and an appointment with my Russian psychiatrist. Nastrovia!

Love,
Maroon

Leave a Reply

