Flour-less Almond Butter Cookies

10 Mar
Flour-less Almond Butter Cookies

Flour-less Almond Butter Cookies

Dear Yolo,

And now, because I love you, I will share my (and Roscoe’s) absolute most favorite cookie recipe which I made last night. Crispy on the edges, chewy in the middle. They’re incredibly delicious, fast and they don’t taste healthy but they are because there is no flour (they’re gluten free!), no dairy and you use sucanat instead of refined sugar.  I do notice a difference in my skin, energy levels, and overall health when I cut down on gluten, refined sugars, and processed foods but I hate feeling deprived. There are so many great recipes out there now that make eating clean actually taste like you’re eating dirrrrrrty.

I didn’t have any chocolate chips last night so I used dried cranberries. Something about the sucanat and the almond butter still tasted a little chocolatey and I liked the little bit of chewiness and brightness of the cranberries.

Roscoe's Almond Butter Cookies IngredientsSo aside from being gluten free, I like that this recipe uses sucanat (a contraction of sucre de canne naturel). If you’re not already familiar with it, it’s basically pure dried sugar cane juice. It has that brown sugar color but is granular in appearance and doesn’t have any of the vitamins or minerals taken out and it has a more pronounced molasses flavor. It has a lower glycemic index than refine sugar so you’ll notice that your body doesn’t experience the same sugar crash after eating these cookies.

One note: I’ve tested several brands and I recommend using Trader Joe’s brand Raw Crunchy Unsalted Almond Butter for the moistest, chewiest, best tasting cookies. (It’s also a better value as almond butter can be pricey.) If you aren’t near a Trader Joe’s, just make sure you use a type of almond butter that is really oily. This has to do with the quality of nuts, roasted vs raw and how the butter is blended– I’m not talking about oil being added. The butter should be just appear very oily and loose and not dry.

Trader Joe's Raw Crunchy Unsalted Almond ButterFlour-less Almond Butter Cookies
adapted from Clean Eating Magazine

preheat oven to 350 degrees
1 c. Almond Butter
3/4 cup Sucanat (found in the baking or health food section of better grocery stores)
1 egg
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
3 oz. dried cranberries, dark chocolate pieces, or whatever you like in your cookies

Mix together first five ingredients until blended. Add cranberries. Drop by rounded teaspoons on a baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes or more on the baking sheet (cookies will be very delicate and need to firm) before transferring to a wire rack or to the hungry people who have been gathering in your kitchen.

Yield 24 cookies.

Nutrients per cookie: Calories: 110, Total Fat: 8 g, Sat. Fat: 1.5 g, Carbs: 10 g, Fiber: 1 g, Sugars: 3 g, Protein: 2 g, Sodium: 55 mg, Cholesterol: 10 mg

Flourless Almond Butter Cookies Before

BEFORE

After

AFTER

5 Responses to “Flour-less Almond Butter Cookies”

  1. miss_stripes March 11, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    This looks delicious! I have a ton of crazy food allergies and this is completely allergen-ok. Thanks for posting!

    • dearmaroon March 12, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      I actually found this recipe after learning that my Dad is allergic to gluten. He adores chocolate chip cookies and bread so it was really hard for him to scale back on flour. I didn’t realize I would fall in love with these cookies too!

      Let me know how they turn out and what you think! 🙂

  2. dearyolo March 12, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    I am so going to make these cookies. They sound amazing! After a heavy meat vacation, we are going on a whole foods sabbatical. We’re shying away from gluten, refined sugar and white flour (or any of its affiliates) and anything processed. Basically, we’ve been going to the farmer’s market and our local butcher McCall’s and then coming up with meals based on the things we bring home (Brian comes up with them and I do a bit of execution). Anyhow, I would love to share the “clean” meals we come up with. They will be based on the things we happen to procure and Brian turning them into actual meals, complete with photos and explanations.

    • dearmaroon March 12, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Good for you! Yes, please do share the clean meals you come up with! This reminds me– I mean to sign up for a farm share so we are forced to incorporate yummy local/seasonal veggies in our life…

      • dearyolo March 14, 2012 at 3:51 am #

        You should sign up for a farm share. I have a friend who does that and gets awesome weekly goodies that are always a fun surprise (well, not really a surprise if you know what’s in season, but still fun). I want to sign up for one too because I have a love/hate relationship with the farmers’ markets. I love the fresh awesome things you can buy and hate all of the crowds/scene that accompany said markets. The hate outweighs the love the hotter it gets. Despite that, going to a market tomorrow. Will report back.

Leave a Reply

